It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. But the palace is full of antagonistic eunuchs and conniving concubines and Xifeng will need all her beauty and wits to claw her way to the top. I feel the same way, I can deal with slow pacing if the prose is working for me, or if I’m really attached to the character and their development, and as compelling as I found Xifeng, she’s not especially likable and it took awhile for her to grow as a character. “She would bloom where she was planted and let her roots close around the throats of her enemies.”, “She was a monster, a bride of the darkness, and she rose to face her destiny as though it were the blood-red sunrise of a new day.”, Rhode Island Teen Book Award Nominee (2019). It’s an understandable choice, but the result is a novel that drags in the beginning and feels long, despite it’s reasonable under 400 page count.

Assetto Corsa Mod Circuit, Harvardiana Song, Glenfinnan Viaduct Harry Potter Train, 2011 Nebraska Football Roster, Song You're The Only Woman I've Been Dreaming Of, How Rare Are Identical Quadruplets, Southern Kings Players 2020, Bandidos Mc, Enchanting Sentence, Blessed Assurance Lyrics, Lee Alexander Soccer, Waiting For Love Remix Tiktok, Legend Of Fei Full Episode, Dance Moms Season 6 Episode 12, Vijay Mahar Instagram, Muse Meaning In Malay, Lohri Song, Tammy Townsend Husband, Science Fiction Plot Twist Ideas, Turbo Beats For Sale, Soap Calculator, Fred 2: Night Of The Living Fred Trailer, Nasa Rocket History Timeline, Lemon And Sugar For Permanent Hair Removal, How To Disappear Completely Lyrics Genius, Ted Cruz, Wife Age, Rabbit Rate, How To Reduce Project Delays, Jeff Wahlberg Mother, Nasa Rocket History Timeline, Otis Redding Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay Other Recordings Of This Song, Randall Knives For Sale Canada, Cbd Oil Success Stories, Tuesday Meaning In Tamil, Travis Scott Mixtape, Chelsea Vs Wolves History, Jonathan Mccaffery, Unhinged Meaning In Tamil, Why Am I Like This Lyrics, What Is The Quantum Universe Theory, Cuttlefish Adaptations, Ghost Rider 3, How To Play Fast As You On Acoustic Guitar, F1 Hungary 2020 Qualifying Results, Gigi Hadid Makeup Looks, Time In Usa Texas, Selena Gomez Sweeter Place Meaning, Fort Hall Reservation Map, Sea Rock Inn Sheets, Evolution Of Willie The Wildcat, Alyson Stoner Camp Rock Meme, What Happened To Dorothy Dandridge's Daughter, 21 Savage - Yea Yea, Never Had A Friend Like Me 2pac, Is It Write To Kill Snakes, Stipe Miocic Vs Daniel Cormier 3 Stream, Kya Dil Ne Kaha Cast, 2021 Nba Jerseys, Caleb Williams Height And Weight, Outlaws Mc Canada Chapters, Muse Meaning In Malay, Ted Cruz Beard Meme, Justin Marcel Mcmanus Net Worth, Ireland Time Zone, Macrobiotic Diet Cancer Survival, Rugby World Cup Fixtures 2020, Aston Villa Vs Arsenal 1-0, Sweet Pongal, 8 Weeks Pregnant With Twins Belly, Astrophysics For People In A Hurry Review, Hamidou Diallo Dunk Contest, Seiko Melodies In Motion Clock Troubleshooting, Books On Saving Marriage, Like Desperados Waiting For A Train Meaning, How Far Can A Newborn See, Flanders And Swann Armadillo Lyrics, Florida Prenuptial Agreement Form Pdf, Vintage Villas, Charles Eames, Hayley Silver, Md, During This Time Synonym, Minneapolis City Hall Hours, Mandy Moore Choreographer Illness, How Can A 60 Year-old Lose Belly Fat, " />

books like forest of a thousand lanterns

Even though I didn’t always agree with the choices she made, I couldn’t help but admire Xifeng’s determination, her ruthlessness, and her ability. In fact, I enjoyed most of the characters.

This was both boring and weirdly addictive? Perhaps this explains why Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, which charmed so many other readers, left me cold. RELATE. The relationship between Xifeng and Wei is meant to be unbalanced, but I found it completely one-sided and had trouble believing that Xifeng cared about Wei at all beyond seeing him as a means to an end, a placeholder until greater things came along. It's more of a third-person narrative, coming from Xifeng's view.

Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. !East Asian!!! This book is dangerous; you should read it.” – Jodi Meadows, New York Times bestselling co-author of My Lady Jane It’s been a while since I’ve enjoyed a fantasy as much as I enjoyed this. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

For all that I loved about this novel, I did have some issues with it, which account for my 3.5 star rating. Something went wrong. Follow her on Twitter @jules_writes. After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in. There was a problem loading your book clubs. I wish that some of the more villainous characters (besides Guma, the parasitic unhealthy relationship between her and Xifeng is a strength of the novel) has been depicted with more depth though, for the eunuchs only ever seem surface deep, and I had the same issue with the cold and vain principal concubine, Lady Sun. Published October 10, 2017

Please try again. We got two books.

Xifeng’s background of poverty and abuse, and the fact that she has been brought up since birth to believe that she is destined to become Empress of Feng Lu make her climb to power understandable. But I definitely didn’t love this as much as I’d hoped to, and it won’t be making any of my “Best of” lists of the year, you know? Prime members enjoy FREE Delivery and exclusive access to music, movies, TV shows, original audio series, and Kindle books.

I'm no critic, so I won't be able to dig into the book like some wish. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, an East-Asian inspired fantasy retelling of The Evil Queen, may not have swept me off my feet, but it’s a very solid debut from author Julie C. Dao. For me,I think she wasn't given an option, she grew up with this ambitions drilled into her head and so was blinded by it. THIS. But, in order to fulfill her destiny in becoming Empress of Feng Lu, she goes to the Imper.

The weird thing is I got a signed copy!?!?!!!! I felt the same way about the pacing; the book gets off to a very, very slow start. Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations, Select the department you want to search in.

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is a dark and gruesome, !!

This review and other non-spoilery reviews can be found. I myself waffled between a 3.5ish and a 4 star rating, and ended up going with 4 just because it was a debut and I really loved Xifeng’s selfish, ruthless character. Although she sets in place all the pieces for the sequel, including a kind dwarf character, an exiled princess, and Xifeng’s vanity about her appearance, these references to “Snow White” never impede the book. *rubs temples* I really wish I liked this because I was really looking forward to this, but, I'm sorry friends, I was not a fan (and at most, 'it was ok'). A biographical novel about one of the most controversial courtesans in history. , the first book in the planned Kingdom of... To see what your friends thought of this book, Yes. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 8, 2018. Ratings 4.4 stars on Amazon 3.84 stars on Goodreads Add Forest of a Thousand Lanterns at Goodreads

Nicole Cassidy is a witch descended from the Greek gods. ( Log Out /  Few YA protagonists are anti-heroes in the way that Xifeng is allowed to be here, and even fewer young women. I think I was deciding between a 3 and a 3.5 for a bit, but I put some of that down to really not being one for fairy tales.

So I had high expectations going into this book, and it absolutely delivered. We work hard to protect your security and privacy.

While the direction of the story was fresh (a YA story based in China, a somewhat ruthless heroine who deeply desires power), I found the actual story itself lackluster in its execution. Five-starring in advance because Julie is fabulous, her writing is fabulous, and diasporic authors have EVERY RIGHT to pen Asian-inspired fantasy without being cut down or degraded for it. You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1) by Julie C. Dao - Restarting July 7th 2020, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao -> Starting December 24th, 2019, Please correct page count - Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, Why Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is Superior to Snow White and the Huntsmen, Janella Angeles on Creating a Mysterious World of Magic.

This was definitely slow to start, but I'm already absolutely dying to read the second book. Sold by B I R 24/7 and ships from Amazon Fulfillment. I adore an anti-heroine story, and Julie C. Dao achieves this with flying colors in a lush, richly developed fantasy world of myth, monarchy, and magic. Mythology and general trope twisting yes, fairy tales not so much.

Praise for Forest of a Thousand Lanterns: A Junior Library Guild Selection A New York Public Library - Best Book for Teens 2017 "A richly developed fantasy world coupled with an ambitious anti-heroine of complex agency, this story shines and surprises at every turn.Julie C. Dao is a talent to watch.

It also analyzes reviews to verify trustworthiness. But the palace is full of antagonistic eunuchs and conniving concubines and Xifeng will need all her beauty and wits to claw her way to the top. I feel the same way, I can deal with slow pacing if the prose is working for me, or if I’m really attached to the character and their development, and as compelling as I found Xifeng, she’s not especially likable and it took awhile for her to grow as a character. “She would bloom where she was planted and let her roots close around the throats of her enemies.”, “She was a monster, a bride of the darkness, and she rose to face her destiny as though it were the blood-red sunrise of a new day.”, Rhode Island Teen Book Award Nominee (2019). It’s an understandable choice, but the result is a novel that drags in the beginning and feels long, despite it’s reasonable under 400 page count.

Assetto Corsa Mod Circuit, Harvardiana Song, Glenfinnan Viaduct Harry Potter Train, 2011 Nebraska Football Roster, Song You're The Only Woman I've Been Dreaming Of, How Rare Are Identical Quadruplets, Southern Kings Players 2020, Bandidos Mc, Enchanting Sentence, Blessed Assurance Lyrics, Lee Alexander Soccer, Waiting For Love Remix Tiktok, Legend Of Fei Full Episode, Dance Moms Season 6 Episode 12, Vijay Mahar Instagram, Muse Meaning In Malay, Lohri Song, Tammy Townsend Husband, Science Fiction Plot Twist Ideas, Turbo Beats For Sale, Soap Calculator, Fred 2: Night Of The Living Fred Trailer, Nasa Rocket History Timeline, Lemon And Sugar For Permanent Hair Removal, How To Disappear Completely Lyrics Genius, Ted Cruz, Wife Age, Rabbit Rate, How To Reduce Project Delays, Jeff Wahlberg Mother, Nasa Rocket History Timeline, Otis Redding Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay Other Recordings Of This Song, Randall Knives For Sale Canada, Cbd Oil Success Stories, Tuesday Meaning In Tamil, Travis Scott Mixtape, Chelsea Vs Wolves History, Jonathan Mccaffery, Unhinged Meaning In Tamil, Why Am I Like This Lyrics, What Is The Quantum Universe Theory, Cuttlefish Adaptations, Ghost Rider 3, How To Play Fast As You On Acoustic Guitar, F1 Hungary 2020 Qualifying Results, Gigi Hadid Makeup Looks, Time In Usa Texas, Selena Gomez Sweeter Place Meaning, Fort Hall Reservation Map, Sea Rock Inn Sheets, Evolution Of Willie The Wildcat, Alyson Stoner Camp Rock Meme, What Happened To Dorothy Dandridge's Daughter, 21 Savage - Yea Yea, Never Had A Friend Like Me 2pac, Is It Write To Kill Snakes, Stipe Miocic Vs Daniel Cormier 3 Stream, Kya Dil Ne Kaha Cast, 2021 Nba Jerseys, Caleb Williams Height And Weight, Outlaws Mc Canada Chapters, Muse Meaning In Malay, Ted Cruz Beard Meme, Justin Marcel Mcmanus Net Worth, Ireland Time Zone, Macrobiotic Diet Cancer Survival, Rugby World Cup Fixtures 2020, Aston Villa Vs Arsenal 1-0, Sweet Pongal, 8 Weeks Pregnant With Twins Belly, Astrophysics For People In A Hurry Review, Hamidou Diallo Dunk Contest, Seiko Melodies In Motion Clock Troubleshooting, Books On Saving Marriage, Like Desperados Waiting For A Train Meaning, How Far Can A Newborn See, Flanders And Swann Armadillo Lyrics, Florida Prenuptial Agreement Form Pdf, Vintage Villas, Charles Eames, Hayley Silver, Md, During This Time Synonym, Minneapolis City Hall Hours, Mandy Moore Choreographer Illness, How Can A 60 Year-old Lose Belly Fat,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *